When I was younger, I really thought adults had it together, especially when we went to church. The grown-ups made it seem like all you needed to do was go to church and follow the rules and you would be handed a ticket to heaven. Christianity seemed quite passive in that regard; your job was to build a spiritual house since we were not of this earth. But I always got the sense that something was missing especially after reading the different stories that Jesus told in the New Testament.

In Mathew 25:31-46 Jesus explains what the final judgement will be like. In the first part of the story he talk about the righteous and their characteristics

34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

As I kid, I always took this to be literal. The cursed were people that Jesus spoke about in verses 41-44, were those that did not physically help the poor and the hungry, or visit the sick or needy. As I got older, I saw what people did and didn’t do and this story took on a completely different light. Don’t get me wrong, I still believe in actual charity, for those who have so much to give to those who are disadvantaged but I think the meat of the story in general is to help our fellow man.

Christians are supposed to be a “light of the world” Mathew 5:14-16. They are meant to impact the world so that all man sees the light of God in them. They are meant to make the world better not just for themselves, but for others.

Now there seems to be a glaring area in which Christians are falling behind and on purpose. I do not see God calling certain people righteous because they do not do the right thing in one key and vital way, which is in politics.

wait-a-minute
Wait a minute? **

Whether at a local or national level, these things affect us and most times they affect the poor, the sick, and the stranger the most. So many Zambian “Christians” will talk like the election is not a big issue in the grand scheme of things because we are not of the earth.

But think about Matthew 25:35 again and add a contemporary lens on it. Does the leadership in power today help the poor? What is their stance on jobs and the economy? Have they fulfilled that promise? What about environmental protection? Is there policy in place to make sure that the water is drinkable that the thirsty are able to drink?

55060369c7f1a60acda4f9ca40b4aa1151107d9216329f0e0df24d3a6d2f513c
Not that kind of thirsty **

What is your president’s stance on foreign policy? Does a stranger (foreigner) feel welcome in your country?

Verse 36 talks about the naked, the sick, and the incarcerated, so does your elected official take care of these people? Does your leader’s health policy make sure that people with pre-existing conditions, terminal illnesses, reproductive problems, and so on, have what they need to live a comfortable healthy life? Does their governance take care of those in prison, or does it ostracise them to the point that they do not feel human?

Think about your elected officials and think about what they have/have not accomplished. Did you put them there by doing something about it or did you idly watch? It is an important thing to think about because it affects so many.hustle-tweet

Christians cannot claim that these things do not affect them because their home is in heaven. Why would they think that when Jesus used The Good Samaritan, The 10 foolish and 10 wise virgins, The Parable of the Talents, this story and others, to tell people that God will determine who can go into the promised land based off what is done here, on earth.

So excusing yourself from an election and letting the cards fall where they might is an easy thing to do, and it is not right. It seems more like, by not registering (or voting) you automatically registered to be part of the cursed.

Edited by Sweet&Bubbly

**Pictures from Google Search

